Floodlit Gala 2016: WINNERS

The Swindon Bowls Club Floodlit Gala 2016 took place between the 19th and 23rd September and what an incredible tournament it was.

Apart from the first day, the weather was perfect and all players enjoyed some very mild conditions under the floodlights.

The Finals day was a fantastic competition with two great semi-finals, followed by a really close final between a Swindon Bowls Club team and Rodbourne Cheney, with Swindon turning out the eventual winners. Congratulations go to Dean Draper, Mickey Pearce, Steve Barker and Carl Fernandes for some outstanding bowling.

A huge vote of thanks must also go to everyone who contributed in some way to the running of the event. In particular, Jim O’Leary for being the event organiser, Chris O’Leary for selling raffle tickets etc, the ladies in the kitchen for providing superb food at the end of every game and to all those members that helped lay out the rinks every day.      Roll on 2017.



This event was kindly sponsored by

A.C.Watson Building Contractors.

Specialists in Conversions, Renovations and New Builds

Geoff Porte. Bowls Wiltshire Champion of Champions 2016

Our very own Geoff Porte beat Tom Pittuck 21-14 to become the 2016 men’s Champion of Champions at the Bowls Wiltshire Finals in Devizes on Saturday 10th September.

It was a remarkable achievement and our sincere congratulations go to Geoff on his superb win.

Pictured below is Geoff receiving his trophy from Peter Sanders, Bowls Wiltshire County President


Geoff will be presented with his trophy at the County Dinner in Melksham on Saturday 19th November and it would be fantastic if as many members as possible are there to support him.

There is an attendance sheet on the noticeboard in the Club with the menu choice for the evening. The cost is £20 per head, starting at 7.00pm.

The deadline for collecting names for this event is 20th October and, depending on numbers wishing to attend, we may be able to get subsidised travelling expenses.

So anyone wishing to share the celebrations with Geoff, please add your name to the list as quickly as possible.


2016 Club Competitions Results

Championship:  Winner:  Jon Slip                                                     Runner-up:  Carl Fernandes
Handicap:  Winner:  Jon Slip                                                              Runner-up:  Carl Fernandes
Retired Singles:  Winner:  Geoff Porte                                            Runner-up:  Charlie McCaffery
2 Wood Singles:  Winner:  Alison White                                        Runner-up: Steve Barker
Novices:  Winner:  Charlie McCaffery                                            Runner-up:  Graham Scott
Barney Fernandes Trophy:  Winner:  Mickey Pearce                   Runner -up:  Carl Fernandes
Pairs:  Winners:  Graham Scott & Den Smith                             Runners-up:  Dean Draper & Steve Barker

Club Person of the Year to be announced at the AGM